Haddon House | Haddon House Vacation Rental Reviews | Best Vancouver Luxury Rentals | Vancouver Accommodation | Places to Rent in Burnaby BC


We are proud of the feedback we receive from our guests. Here is what some of them say. Please feel free to send us your comments info@haddonhouse.ca

Please visit our reviews on Tripadvisor as well.

Beautiful and comfortable house!


It is a beautiful and comfortable house, spacious and well decorated. The hosts are gorgeous and we all love and enjoying to stay at Marie’s house. We will visit Marie’s house again and

recommend to our friends.

Submitted: November 2017   Source: Airbnb

very suitable for a family getaway!


The spacious house is very suitable for a family getaway. The host is very friendly and provides us with all the information we need upon arrival. He even bought us mooncakes for

celebrating mid-autumn festival!

Submitted: September 2017   Source: Airbnb

superb stay!


One of the best Airbnb experiences to date and Marie-Claire and Johannes are awesome hosts. Accommodation is of 5 star quality and cleanliness and this is by far the most equipped

kitchen with full utensils in Airbnb I stayed. Accommodation is within a high end tranquil neighborhood and a short 5 min stroll to deer lake. We love the backyard patio and BBQ facility

and had a fabulous time enjoying the greens. Overall a superb stay and highly recommended.

Submitted: July 2017   Source: Airbnb

We will for sure come back!


This is definitely my best air bnb trip so far. We got everything beyond expectation. The house is 5+ star hotel standard and we got everything we need. The kitchen is so well equipped.

Marie-Louise and Jo are great hosts. The kids even got accompanied with the lovely lab mix Cara. We will for sure come back!

Submitted: January 2017   Source: Airbnb

Wonderful time!


My family stayed in Marie-Louise’s place for reunion after my wedding. Marie-Louise gave us a great tour of the house. Both Marie-Louise and her husband are very friendly, and they made

us feel at home. The place was filled with deep art atmosphere and full of nice landscape. The neighborhood was also quiet, peaceful and safe. Facilities are clean and well-organized. All

stuff we need for cooking are provided. My family had a wonderful time in the house. This will still be my choice if my family visit again! And I recommend the house to families!

Submitted: November 2016   Source: Airbnb

great host!


Marie-Louise was a great host. She gave us a very detailed tour of the premises to make sure everything was perfect. The house is very cozy and comfortable and the area is quiet and

extremely nice. It was 8 of us and we all were very happy there.

Submitted: July 2016   Source: Airbnb

Beyond our expectation!!


Marie and Louise’s house is beyond our expectation in every regards. The house is spacious, clean, has more than everything you need. It’s also very close to deer lake, just 5 or so

minutes’ walk. The neighborhood is very quite, and we slept very well.Marie and Louise are great hosts, they are warm-hearted and very responsive. Louise gave us a very detailed

instruction when we checked in. Definitely recommend it!

Submitted: May 2016   Source: Airbnb



Amazing!! Mary-Louise makes our stay felt just like staying in a hotel. Only better cause we have all the common space on the 1st floor and separate rooms on the 2nd floor. They also

supply the grocery for the first breakfast in the kitchen. It’s been really thoughtful and looking forward to meet you again!

Submitted: April 2016   Source: Airbnb

Very thoughtful host!


Very thoughtful host! Prepared everything well for us once we arrived. The house is amazing and the cleanliness is superb like a new house. Definitely will stay in this house again if we

travel to Vancouver again. Thanks!

Submitted: February 2015   Source: Airbnb

great stay!


We had a great stay at your wonderful, well cared for home. Mary-Louise made us feel very welcome and at ease. We felt like we were staying at a high end hotel. Our hosts thought of

everything and made sure we had everything we needed. The house and the neighbourhood were excellent – very convenient location in Burnaby and BC. We enjoyed a jog around Deer

Lake, about 3 minutes walk away.

Submitted: January 2015   Source: Airbnb

The house is magnificent!


The hosts were most welcoming and accommodating. The house is magnificent. The experience here outstanding.

Submitted: October 2014   Source: Airbnb

The house is amazing!


The house is amazing, which has a super large yard and all devices customers need, such as BBQ. Marie and Louise are very nice and patient to introduce their house to me. We spent a

wonderful time there!!

Submitted: August 2014   Source: Airbnb

One of the best homes in Burnaby!


Marie and John are wonderful Hosts and they have one of the best homes in Burnaby, BC. Pictures cannot describe the comfort and peace this home brings about. Highly recommend this

home to all families looking to visit BC for business or vacation. Amenities surpassed all expectations and the BBQ Grill was just icing on the cake. Not to mention generosity of John and

Marie to allow us to use the groceries that we didn’t even purchase! Certainly made our trip worthwhile and I look forward to visiting again!

Submitted: May 2013   Source: Airbnb

Elegant respite from the big city


This is a large, elegant old home in Burnaby near Vancouver, British Columbia. The home is a few blocks from the Trans Canada Highway 1 and 2 blocks from Deer Lake Park. The neighbourhood is very quiet and has many lovely homes making it ideal for quiet walks. Parking is easy and there is room for a couple vehicles.

The large living room has a grand piano and the dining room table accommodates 8 comfortably. The entire house is tastefully decorated. The use of the washer and dryer is shared with the owners in a separate apartment. Owners Marie-Louise and Johann are very friendly and readily available if needed.

The kitchen has a centre island and breakfast nook with room for 5 or 6. The owners provided breakfast supplies including coffee, tea, juice, milk, eggs and cereal.

Coming back to Haddon House after a day of sightseeing was really a pleasure. I recommend this rental for small groups or a family.

Submitted: 7 September 2017   Stayed: May 2017    Source: Tripadvisor

Beautiful Home/Neighborhood near Lake

Robert J

Stayed two nights a year ago & can hardly wait to go back to Burnaby & Haddon House..Marie-Louise & Johannes are very special charming hosts whom we greatly enjoyed talking & laughing with..Johannes a gourmet chef so both hot breakfasts were outstanding. They also arranged for us to get a window table at sunset for dinner on the mountain..lovely walk from their home to park lake & Hart House.

Submitted: 27 April 2016    Stayed: May 2015   Source: Tripadvisor

An absolute pleasure

adam h

My girlfriend and I were charmed with our stay here! Immediately we noticed the elegant decor of this beautifully maintained and immaculately clean heritage home. The nearly 100 year old architecture produces a very warm and pleasing atmosphere in conjunction with the inviting grand piano perched in the living room. Johannes and Mairie-Louise were more than gracious hosts and made us feel warm and welcomed. Descending from our room in the morning we were greeted by a happy chef (Johannes) and his extensive culinary efforts neatly spread out across the dining room table. As requested we had fresh and fluffy blueberry pancakes which were prepared to perfection.
My partner and I had a wonderful experience here and recommend it over a common hotel experience any day!

Eine wunderbare erfahrung!

Submitted: 16 March 2015    Stayed: March 2015   Source: Tripadvisor

Burnaby Bounty!

Louise A

Marie-Louise and Johannes could not have been more hospitable or delivered better service during our six-night stay, from scrumptious breakfasts to packed lunches to privacy and comfort. We enjoyed their beautiful home, and will return at the first opportunity to visit with these wonderful hosts and enjoy the first-class accommodations offered at Haddon House!

Submitted: 19 October 2014    Stayed: September 2014   Source: Tripadvisor

Simply the best


My family and I stayed at Haddon House for just over a week at the end of August. We hired the house as we prefer self catering to hotels as you get a real feel for what it is like to live in a different country.
The house exceeded all of our expectations, it was stunning, extremely comfortable, kitted out wonderfully and in superb condition, immaculate in every detail. We felt like we were the first people to stay there, we weren’t, but it was so pristine, we felt like we were!
The hosts were just as amazing as the house, there when you needed them, but so discreet. As other guests have said, they are wonderful, nothing is to much trouble, naturally good hosts
The children(all young adults) enjoyed the stay too, especially the lovely chocolates and selection of soft drinks.
I can find absolutely no faults with Haddon House, can’t recommend it enough. You really feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel. For me being told that at the end of the stay that we didn’t have to strip the beds was wonderful. So glad we have experienced this amazing home, wish we were still there…

Submitted: 3 October 2014    Stayed: August 2014   Source: Tripadvisor

Excellent service and very clean


The house was very clean and quiet. My family stayed at the Haddon house for family reunion and it was a wonderful experience. We rented the whole house to accommodate our large family. The house has cozy feeling even though it is very spacious. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly.

Submitted: 26 September 2014    Stayed: September 2014   Source: Tripadvisor

We came, we stayed, you conquered.

Tarun S

Thank you Trip Advisor for listing this property and giving us the opportunity to experience a memorable holiday in total comfort and unmatched hospitality. The hosts and their pet dogs were the icing on the cake. Highly recommended. An ideal location to unwind after a cruise.

Submitted: 20 June 2014    Stayed: June 2014   Source: Tripadvisor

Loved it, loved it, loved it.


My wife and I stayed here one night on our way out to Harrison Hot Springs… one night was definitely not enough! Johannes is a marvelous chef and host – I simply cannot say enough good things about the breakfast. There is a dog, but it is very well-behaved (and pretty low-energy). The bed was super-comfortable, the bathroom spacious and well-kept, and the common living-room area inviting and relaxing. We will absolutely be back.

Submitted: 13 January 2013    Stayed: January 2013   Source: Tripadvisor

Quiet, quaint and close to everything.

Lisa P

I felt very relaxed and cozy at this traditionally decorated, antique-filled inn located in a quiet, safe neighborhood that was still very close to Metrotown and Highway 1. The breakfasts were gourmet and the owners were very accommodating and professional. I would stay here again!

Submitted: 28 October 2013    Stayed: October 2013   Source: Tripadvisor

Amazing property with amazing hosts


We travel to the coast annually and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. This property is outstanding, not only for the extensive and loving restoration that went into the home, but the proximity to everything is perfect – so central to everything! The rooms are spotless and the breakfasts that our gracious host Johannes conjures up are sumptuous and served in a gorgeous dining room. Our hosts were very accommodating with our check-in and check-out times and happily made dining recommendations for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for treating us as friends, we will be back again and again.

Submitted: 28 September 2011    Stayed: September 2011   Source: Tripadvisor

A super fantastic experience

Tze Leung L.

The house is so cozy, classic, comfortable and user-friendly. The location is great and convenient. The owners are super nice. We were surprised when we saw the refrigerator was full stock with food and beverages. Our kids loved to play with Clara (the doggie). It was a super great experience and value-for-money to stay in such heritage house.

Submitted: Aug 13, 2017   Stayed: Jul 2017   Source: HomeAway

Fabulous House

Susan B.

The house is beautiful and easy to get to. We traveled from California for a family event with all ages and it was the perfect accommodation. Plenty of parking, comfortable beds, well stocked kitchen, lots of room for 7 adults. Easy to get into Vancouver for sight seeing, close to grocery, restaurants, shopping mall and freeways if you’re staying in Burnaby. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Would highly recommend it.

Submitted: May 31, 2017   Stayed: May 2017   Source: HomeAway


Sue W.

Beautiful home and lovely neighborhood. We enjoyed the host, the accommodations, and the scenic Vancouver. All seven of us were happy with the choice and that itself says alot.

Thank you Johannes and Marie.

Submitted: May 8, 2017   Stayed: May 2017   Source: HomeAway

Wonderful stay with our kids.

Mai R.

We had a wonderful stay in Haddon House. There were 4 adults and 2 young children, and the place was more than spacious. Marie-Louise and Johannes were great hosts. The house was very well stocked and they provided us with days worth of fresh organic fruit, yogurt, bread, eggs, etc. We would go on our excursions in the mornings (Granville Island, Stanley park, Science Museum and Capilano Suspension bridge were all 30 minutes away in usual traffic). After my younger son’s afternoon nap during which my older son would play in the front or back yard, we would walk over to Deer Lake and play in the playground or go paddle boating. The grand parents enjoyed walking along the trail looking for beavers and especially conversing with the hosts. We would come home and enjoy our dinner sitting out on their patio enjoying their well kept garden. It was a perfect place for a family with young children. Thank you.

Submitted:Aug 18, 2016   Stayed: Aug 2016  Source: HomeAway


Ruby P.

The owners where accomodating, and available for any needs. They made our vacation so pleasurable. The property is just fantastic! Prestine grounds it Made our vacation that much better!

I highly recommend it. It’s not the far to Vancouver downtown.

I can’t wait to go back!

Submitted:Aug 8, 2016   Stayed: May 2016  Source: HomeAway

Absolutely perfect!

Wanda W.

Haddon House was even more than expected, if that’s possible! Marie-Louise and Johannes were the most gracious hosts. Upon arrival it was clear that they have thought of everything to make the transition from normal daily life in Michigan to a week of Vancouver vacation life as simple as possible. A clean, beautiful home with wonderful owners who had information ready: from everywhere one may need to go in the area to traveling directions to sightseeing attractions, brochures for ideas and even coupons to use if you chose to use them, and basic food staples stocked in the kitchen. The residential area means much welcomed nighttime quietness. A 5 minute walk to Deer Lake and the Burnaby Village Museum (both free of charge) made the location perfect for times when we wanted a break from the city life of Vancouver. Haddon House accommodated all 8 of us, including our 2 young grandchildren, perfectly. We would recommend this home to anyone thinking of visiting Vancouver anytime. Cannot say enough good things about it. Wish we were back there all ready! Our only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer to be able to spend more time with our kind and caring hosts.

Submitted:Jul 18, 2016   Stayed: Jul 2016  Source: HomeAway

Excellent family stay

Doug S.

This house is a treasure and the hosts are excellent. It’s a great location. We had rental cars and used it as a home base to explore the area. Morning walks around the nearby lake were great! Of the many vacation properties I’ve rented, this one is the best I’ve been at.

Submitted:Jul 18, 2016   Stayed: Jul 2016  Source: HomeAway

Parent’s 50th Anniversary


We just returned from a wonderful week at Haddon House in beautiful Burnaby, just a few miles from downtown Vancouver. The house is absolutely beautiful. The yard is breathtaking. The furnishings are perfect in every room. The kitchen is very well equipped, and has everything you’d need to make a gourmet meal. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. We used the Sky Train, which is only a few miles from the house. We had a rental car, as we spent time in Victoria and Whistler, but I don’t think a car is absolutely necessary if you’ll be staying strictly in the Vancouver area. We were celebrating my parents’ fifty year anniversary and we will always remember this trip and this beautiful home. Thank you for your hospitality!

Submitted:Jun 21, 2016   Stayed: Jun 2016  Source: HomeAway

Amazing Stay

PhD W.

This was an amazing stay! The property is lovely and well stocked on arrival. Close to Deer Lake for long walks or a run. It was close to many amenities throughout the lower mainland. Our hosts were amazing and ensured we had a delightful stay – we ended our stay with an amazing bbq on the back deck after a day of whale watching to celebrate a milestone birthday! Thank you for a great weekend!

Submitted:May 2, 2016   Stayed: Apr 2016  Source: HomeAway

Wonderful house and host

Sally W.

We had two families with 4 adults and 4 teenagers sharing the house for 3 nights. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed meeting our host, Johannes. Highly recommend this house!

Submitted:Jul 10, 2015   Stayed: Jul 2015  Source: HomeAway

Trip to World Cup Soccer

Linda M.

My family and I recently stayed at Haddon House for the World Cup Soccer tournament in Vancouver. What a great find! The house was perfect, the location great, and the hosts were the BEST! They were very helpful and the house was well stocked when we arrived. That was great, since we didn’t have to rush out to a store! We felt as though we were in our own homes! We all would rate them 5+ plus, plus! Thank you Johannes and Marie-Louise, for a memorable experience for our family!

Submitted:Jun 21, 2015   Stayed: Jun 2015  Source: HomeAway


Karen H.

We came to Vancouver for a family visit and could not have been luckier to stay at Haddon House. It was beautifully appointed, well stocked and centrally located to our needs. Our hosts, Johannes & Marie-Louise were delightful and most helpful. The proximity to Deer Lake was a bonus for lovely walks and biking. All in all, a top notch experience.

Submitted:Oct 22, 2013   Stayed: Oct 2013  Source: HomeAway

Can we stay here forever?

Nancy W.

We rented the whole house for our family of 8. So beautiful and comfortable as well.

The property was impeccable, gardens well manicured and location beautiful. Innkeepers were there if needed. Would recommend this place to everyone.

Submitted:Jun 14, 2012   Stayed: Jun 2012  Source: HomeAway

Guestbook Comment


We stayed a week at the Haddon House for our daughter’s wedding. It was a wonderful place to stay and we felt right at home. Our whole family were able to be together for this special time. Marie Louise and Johannes were wonderful hosts, we felt so welcome and we would love to stay with them again.

Submitted:Mar 16, 2009   Stayed: Feb 2009  Source: HomeAway


“Tranquility Oasis”

Very comfortable stay with welcoming hosts and friendly dog. Quiet, convenient location close to shops and parks. A clean, beautiful, newly remodeled heritage home that easily gets 5 stars from me!